Almost Ready

Today consisted of packing 10 days worth of stuff into a bag meant for overnight. Aside from the baggage fees, I refuse to allow another airline to lose my luggage. This bag is pretty roomy, and I did manage to remove the computer padding, figuring I can always use the quilted pullout from my actual computer bag if I needed it.

Then the computer started screaming that it needed to do a full scan, so I’m typing at half speed. Then I had to run defrag and diskscan. At least the computer will be fit, rested and ready when I return.

As I was running around today I encountered a new variation on the ugly American. I went to get my nails done so I won’t look like a total ragamuffin, and the parking lot in front of the place was missing – actually the blacktop was missing. A nice man directed me to park behind the building and told me I could leave the normal way. I nodded my thanks, parked and entered the nail place through the back door. All was calm except for the back hoe ripping up the pavement out front and the dump truck pulling in and out and the other two smaller pieces of heavy equipment pounding back and forth across the exposed dirt.

A bit later, a woman came lurching in the front door. “What IS this? What am I supposed to do? I can’t walk back across that after I get my pedicure.” The lovely employees of the nail place speak pretty good English (they’re from Korea), but I was pretty sure neither of them caught the words through the woman’s hysteria.

I was the only customer in the place, so I said, “You should pull around behind and come in through the back door. Didn’t they tell you?”

“No. There was truck parked across the entrance. I’m going to move my car. Is there a back door?” She was too upset to listen, obviously.

A minute went by, then two, then three, then five. She must have confronted one of the workmen because she came huffing in the back door. “He called me a bitch! I’m calling the company.” She sat herself down in the pedicure chair and dialed, told someone her version of what happened. Then she said, “Yes, all right.” And repeated the story. Then she listened for a minute and said, “Oh, I don’t know. He was short, wearing a hat, had frizzy gray hair, and he was very dirty.” I had seen the guy she meant driving one of the pieces of equipment, which means he’s probably a member of the Operating Engineers. I thought, yeah, and he probably makes about four times more an hour than you do. And of course he’s dirty – he’s working road demolition and construction!

Both the manicurists were occupied at that moment, but the “lady” said, “I’m ready. I’m ready now!” One of the woman started work on her and then send, “What color do you want?” And the woman said, “Oh, he upset me so much, I forgot to pick a color. Anything pink is fine.” I’m thinking she should have something in glaring red. The colors are all sick puns – I’m wearing Light My Sapphire. Have previously worn Tasmanian Devil Made Me Do It. So maybe Seeing Red Bull for her? I gave a smile of sympathy to the other employee. Then I got out of Dodge as fast as I could.

My computer access will probably be limited for the next few days, though I may be able to post here and there. Full blog will return will when I do.

Leave a Reply

