Quick Hit

A quick hit today because the day got away from me. It’s 8 p.m. and I’m just starting this entry.

I was thrilled to receive a note from my friend Dr. Diane Isaacs, though I wish she’d stay home for more than a week at a time. Now she’s on her way to Morocco. Anyway, she sent a copy of a page from Push, the novel on which the new movie Precious is based.

As nearly as I can make out without reading the entire book, Precious, a sexually abused, HIV-positive teen, has arrived at the alternative school where she and her child (her second by her father) live. Though she is illiterate when she arrives she begins to read. She makes list of some of the books on her bookcase. Number three on the list is Harriet Tubman: Conductor on the Underground Railroad by Ann Petry. Yippee!! The next book on the list is Ann McGovern’s Wanted Dead or Alive: The True Story of Harriet Tubman. Precious writes under that “(got two Harriet Tubman books).

Mother is in good company in that collection, as she sits with Alice Walker and Langston Hughes, among others.

Diane said in her note: “I hope she’s mentioned in the movie!” Me, too.

Now I’ve got to scare up a copy of the book – and probably go sit in a movie theater for the first time since I saw Training Day. That was in 2001. Oprah’s encouragement of Precious may just lead me there.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Quick Hit”

  1. Betsy Says:

    Fabulous! Simply fabulous! It would be great if they mention your mother’s name…this could mean reprints…

Leave a Reply

