Shopping for My Nephew

My sister-in-law and I decided that from now on I’m going to be the “book” auntie. She had one and loved it. And I had given Tony a reprint of the original of Where the Wild Things Are for Christmas, along with a coloring book with Spongebob and Squidward and something else that I can’t remember.

So I went shopping for his birthday and had a blast. The clerk in the Barnes & Noble children’s section really knows what she’s doing. I described his reading ability and she gave me a bunch of suggestions for things that he could read right away by himself and things that he’ll grow into.

My first selection was revenge on his mom the teacher, and his dad the former teacher. It’s the “Weird School” series and I got him the first book, Miss Daisy Is Crazy! He took one look and started to laugh. Other great titles, Mr. Granite Is From Another Planet! and Officers Spence Makes No Sense! It looks like there are about 20 books in this line, so I’ll be buying these for him until he finishes college!

The second I-can-read-it-myself was the first of the “Captain Underpants” books. It’s the first book of the first collection – now there’s a second collection, so those may go through college, too.

And then the set that I want to read just because it’s got a terrific format is Diary of Wimpy Kid. Just the back cover is great because it looks like someone taped pieces of paper to the diary.

Looks like I’ve got some good reading ahead.

Leave a Reply

