Quick Hit

A quick hit posted early today because tonight I go to Read to Succeed again. We all had such a good time (“Profiles in Courage,” November 9, 2009) when I went last fall that they’ve invited me back.

Since then they’ve started a blog (“Read To Succeed Blog,” January 26). Their poetry is eloquent, passionate. I’m looking forward to meeting new students and seeing the others again.

This time I’ll be reading donating copies of Can Anything Beat White?: A Black Family’s Letters and At Home Inside: A Daughter’s Tribute to Ann Petry. Three of us will read and I hope some of the students present their work.

Since it’s National Poetry Month, I’m presenting “Notes for a Poetic Evening” and reading that most poetic of short stories by Ann Petry, “Solo on the Drums.”

Full account will follow.

Leave a Reply

