So Long, Target

I’ve never shopped at Wal-Mart. There were no stores in Philadelphia or my part of Connecticut when Sam Walton began driving small businesses out of rural areas and then closing his stores, leaving shoppers with no options. Once the company’s policies of union bashing and sex discrimination became public, I decided the only reason to go in one of their stores was to use the ladies room.

Now Target is off my list, too. This is rather a sad situation because I really loved strolling the aisles looking at the “cheap chic” clothes, even if I mostly just bought kitty litter, laundry detergent, shampoo, paper towels and that sort of thing.

I might reconsider and return to the stores if the company stopped giving to right-wingers, but I doubt that will happen. What sent me over the edge was Target’s donation of $150,000 to a nonprofit organization that supports a gay-basher who is now the GOP candidate for governor of Minnesota.

I hope the backlash grows and that Randi Reitan is just one of many, many people all over the country who send a message to the store.

Best Buy also made a contribution but these days I’m not buying electronica so no dilemma there.

In the meantime, I’m buying kitty litter wherever it’s on sale.

Leave a Reply

