What I’m Reading Now

This entry was supposed to go up on March 24, 2011. Viruses got in the way.

I sneaked Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris from the hospital reading collection thinking it would be good light reading. It is and it isn’t. The monologues included on This American Life are mostly wildly funny with small pinches of pathos. The full length versions of the essays? short stories? in the book encompass far more depth and breadth.  They are darker — we learn that Sedaris had a crack habit and failed miserably as a writing workshop instructor at an art school despite his expansive knowledge of daytime soap operas. And I actually cried over the death of Neil the cat until he described what he did with her ashes.

Still, there’s (oxymoron alert!) serious humor here.  His mother adores the vase that her younger son gives her and keeps wildflowers in the skull-shaped bong that his brother left on the coffee table in the living room. And I can hear D.S. singing old TV commercials in the voice of Billie Holiday.

Not great literature, but great fun to read.

 

 

2 Responses to “What I’m Reading Now”

  1. What I’m Reading Now « Lizr128′s Blog Says:

    […] I dove in after finishing Me Talk Pretty One Day (“What I’m Reading Now”), which disappointed overall as the bits I already knew were the funniest. There is a connection […]

  2. What I’m Reading Now | Liz Petry's Blog Says:

    […] I dove in after finishing Me Talk Pretty One Day (“What I’m Reading Now”), which disappointed overall as the bits I already knew were the funniest. There is a connection […]

Leave a Reply

