Library Kindle

Quick update: Isis returned from the vet in much better shape this year than last. She was still groggy and I limited her food. She staggered a bit, but then she crawled into my office chair and has been asleep for the past two hours. Hence I’m now using my laptop as an actual laptop.  I predict she’ll be back to normal tomorrow. The only distressing thing is that she seems to have lost another pound and she is eating more. We’ll see how things go over the next few weeks as the temps heat up.

This entry was supposed to be about Righthaven, but I need another day to wrap my brain around the implications of media companies that sell and lease back their copyrights, the impact on innocent (and not so innocent) people who seem to be hijacking things other people write, and the limits of fair use.

So for today I’ll explore what I suspect will be an ongoing issue, which is using Kindle to borrow library books. They will arrive on the scene toward the end of the year. Everyone who has written about the issue agrees that many questions remain. My first one: When will my local library join? It probably won’t because the numbers are limited to 11,000, but with Interlibrary Loan, a girl can always hope that somewhere in Connecticut there’ll be a Kindle portal available.

Paid Content thinks the big issues will be how many books will be available. Why not all of them, just as publishers offer their dead trees-and-ink editions to libraries? The other issue for the electronic economic compendium of blogs, tweets and so forth is how many copies of each book a library will be able to “loan” at a time. I don’t have an answer for that one but there’s no reason that libraries could acquire only one or two copies and have an electronic “hold” system in place just as they do for DTAI editions.

For Gigaom, which bills itself as “tech news, analysis and trends,” the big question is right in the headline: ownership rules all, and Gigaom wants to know who or what has electronic hands on the goods. The corollary, which will be key to privacy experts, is how much Amazon and others will be able to see the notes that people can leave. Amazon says only the borrower will be able to see the notes, but if the patron borrows or buys the book later on, the notes will remain. Gigaom is concerned, rightfully, that Amazon may change the rules. (Check out the Google grab, which started with out of copyright books and is now wending its way through federal court.) On the Kindle issue, I almost never write in my own books. If I want to make notes, I write them on a piece of paper or in a computer file, so I won’t be writing in Kindle editions. I do see the attractiveness to Amazon for setting up a Facebook-y, Twitter-y, “meet singles in your area who make the same kind of notes in our ebooks.” I’m giving myself the creeps, and the cat has now replaced the computer in my lap, so it’s time to file.

One Response to “Library Kindle”

  1. PaidContent « Lizr128′s Blog Says:

    […] surfaced in research for “Library Kindle.” I’ve only just started reading it but it’s offered a more […]

Leave a Reply

