Quick Hit

It’s been one of those days all week – and it’s only Tuesday. Just to give an indication, I took my noon walk at 7 p.m. Anyway, here are a couple quick items.

  • As noted (“Quick Hit”) I’ve adored Tony Auth’s cartoons since I lived in Philadelphia and saw his work in the Inquirer. He seems to do something spectacular every time I need a good, quick item. I haven’t written anything about the hit on Osama bin Laden, but two of Auth’s recent cartoons express my feelings exactly. The first one appeared May 3, and epitomized the world’s revulsion at the man. The second one appeared today and gives all due praise to the folks who carried out the action. Now if I could just figure out why the NYTimes writes his full name “Osama bin Laden” but capitalizes “Bin Laden.” Details, details…
  • On a happy note, I found the following entry in my mother’s journal from 1945 when she was visiting her parents: “birds very early very noisy though they calm down later. I think they talk about the weather toward dawn or right after it and hold conferences and fight.” The latter two sound kind of like Congress, except they’re rowdy day and night. I’m having Mother’s bird experience, but I’m wondering why a bunch of loudmouths are carrying on at 4 a.m. when there isn’t even a hint of daylight. Either they’ve been partying all night and are just getting home or their body clocks are seriously askew. I guess I shouldn’t complain because they’re not as obnoxious as the yappy dog across the street who barks on and off from 6 a.m. until about 8. I predict the neighbors will rise up in revolt in the near future.
Leave a Reply

