Wine Club IV

A couple of quick items before the main event.

  • Barbara Sicherman has written an amazing article for Connecticut Explored (formerly The Hog River Journal). “Women Who Changed History” contains brief – very brief — profiles Prudence Crandall, Ann Petry (yeah!), Estelle Griswold, Catherine Roraback, Maria Sánchez, and Anne Stanback. Despite space limitations, Barbara has captured the essence of these six women and has explained how each changed the world. An impressive achievement and their part and hers.
  • Today must have been try to mislead Liz day. First I had a bank teller give me three pieces of wrong information about my account; the grocery store didn’t recognize its own lettuce; the clerk in the store where I bought Connecticut Explored tried to convince her boss that it was free, when the $5.25 price was right there in the upper right hand corner. Then she grew upset when I pointed out the price; the waiter in the sushi restaurant tried to charge me for rice when it was supposed to be included with my meal. I came home after that and did not try to buy anything.
  • Every time I update RealPlayer it messes with my computer. Today was no exception.

Now to the main event. My next shipment of wine is supposed to be arriving soon, so I’ll catch up with last the collection from summer 2010. This one had two selections that were so fabulous, I ordered more bottles. In the order of the tasting notes:

  • Lapis Luna Petit Verdot 2005 lacked personality and mouth feel, which was surprising given its  robust 14.4 percent alcohol content. This bottle was a special disappointment because one of the first really good wines I ever drank came from San Luis Obispo. This one tasted more like a bland Merlot than anything else, and at $20 I would absolutely never buy it again.
  • Milyaroo Shiraz 2008. With a name like that it had to be Australian – South Eastern Australia to be exact. This $14 bottle wasn’t as peppery or as acid as many shiraz/syrahs and a great deal more syrupy. It tasted like a mid-grade California cab in terms of alcohol punch (14.5 percent) and a high-grade in terms of flavor. A bit of complexity but no finish.
  • Potter’s Hill Pinot Noir 2008. This California pinot noir seemed anemic at first, with a very light red color and only 13.5 percent alcohol. With subsequent tasting it became somewhat more robust, and finally a bit syrupy and sweet. It might be OK as an aperitif served after a 45-minute visit to the refrigerator. But at $20 a bottle, this wine is not a repeat.
  • El Peral Cabernet Sauvignon 2008. My note says: Now this is a wine! It was so good I bought three more bottles – at $13 and change, discounted from $15. It is full but not overbearing with a healthy 14.6 percent alcohol. I tasted a variety of fruit, chocolate and a smooth finish without the pushy Cali cab flavor. It’s so ferocious I pour about half of what I normally drink and savor every drop.
  • Richland Chardonnay 2008. If someone had asked me in 2005 (after declaring that Toasted Head was too over the top) if I’d ever endorse a chardonnay, I’d have said no, never, no way, no how. Well, never say never. This chard, also from South East Australia, is nothing like the oak-laden chards of yesteryear. Richland has produced something much closer to the delicate but flavorful white Burgundies of France, though with a higher 13.5 percent alcohol content. I disagree with the tasting notes about the oak, btw. It’s just not there if the wine is properly chilled. At $11 a bottle, I bought three more and will probably make further investments to give as gifts.
  • Climbing Vine Sauvignon Blanc 2009. On first tasting, this version was better than others the wine club has offered with less of the Welch’s flavor, more acid and a bit of a bite. Subsequent tastings made me decide that this wine needs to be ice ice cold. By the third day it tasted like all the rest, and I dumped into some soup. $15 and 13.9 percent alcohol.
Leave a Reply

