Savoring Tea in Magazine Form

After blogging about Tea a Magazine last night, I spent a delightful hour reading the rest of the publication. I so wish Mother was alive to see it. She would have adored the white and lavender lilacs on the cover, the lively and informative description of Harney & Sons, the inspiring “Tea in Dhankuta, Nepal” with its glorious photographs. I, too, savored every bit of it, just as one does a cup of good tea. Even the Will-Kate commemorative tea service items looked elegant on these pages.

“The Magic in the Leaves,” about the book of the same name, reminded me of my mother’s friend, Virginia Harrington, who read the leaves and gave me two small cups and saucers (which I still have) with the signs of the zodiac printed on them. They are not nearly as pretty as the pieces displayed, and I’ve never quite figured out how read leaves with them. Nevertheless, they’re a pretty addition to a tea service.

I have to admit that I skipped the recipes, don’t need more chocolate cakes, shortbreads, etc. If I need a fix, I’ll go to Peggi’s. That way the leftovers won’t be hanging around as a temptation.

My favorite article was “4 New Ways to Enjoy Japanese Tea.” As regular readers of this blog know I love Japanese food and culture. I brew my own Japanese tea but rarely order it in sushi restaurants because it usually proves to be tepid, tasteless, or both.  I learned a great deal about types of Japanese tea from this article. The most important takeaway, however, was that roasting can revive leaves that are no longer fresh.

Mother’s favorite article, I know, would have been “Reader’s Collection” about Jean Bucholz’s utterly magnificent collection of cups and saucers, pots, plates, jewelry, and gardening implements (which were sitting on a piece of lace.) What drew my eye was the Imari on the first page. My mother had a lifelong affair with these pieces and spent a great deal of time explaining to me how to determine whether it was original or reproduction. Sadly those enormous platters and ginger jars did not travel from Old Saybrook. But I can still spot the originals from a good five feet away.

Thank you, Pearl Dexter, for a beautiful publication!

One Response to “Savoring Tea in Magazine Form”

  1. Pearl Dexter Says:

    Liz,
    THANK YOU for your kudos. It is much appreciated. Glad you liked the magazine.
    Regards,
    Pearl Dexter
    Editor/publisher
    TEA A MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

