Wine Club V

These wines arrived last September. but none of them seemed the worse for sitting around on until this spring/summer. Three of them lack vintages, two specific locations. The color managed to fall off the tasting notes. And the total price is $86 – so where’s the promised $100 value?

  • Double R Zinfandel 2007 from Lodi, California ($15/14.5%). I saved this bottle till last, and I’m glad I did. Zin was my default red until I discovered the Argentine cabs. Now it’s a tossup. This wine poured well on the first day, with heavy fruit, notes of chocolate and a smooth finish. It’s not a summer wine, but it paired well with a terrific California cheese that my neighbor gave me. On days two, three, and four it went from early lightness to an explosion of the same flavors as the first day. By Day 4, my only comment was I’m buying this one.
  • Sierra Batuco Syrah-Malbec from Valle Central, Chile. ($15/13%).A bit syrupy but the pepper of the syrah lessens the blow, which is too sweet for my taste. Aeration produces an aftertaste of weird tartness, followed by a sweet flatness. That’s the impression from the first three ounces spread out over forty-five or fifty minutes. Day 2: not nearly as complex and hence uninteresting. Day 3: just plain sour.
  • Roca Cabernet Sauvignon from Mendoza, Argentina ($15/14.1%). This is a good, full-bodied, not perfum-y cab. It lacks the power punch of Cali cabs, and that’s a good thing. I tasted a good dose of chocolate on the first day. Day 2: Better and more complex with cherries and chocolate combined. Day 3: I said I’d buy this again, and if I hadn’t tasted Double R, this bottle would have been the hit of the demi-case.
  • Stallion Cellars Meritage 2007 from somewhere in California. ($13/13.9%). This Meritage is fifty percent merlot, with the balance malbec and cab. The first impression was of the longest legs I’ve ever seen on first pour. With that blend of grapes it should be more complex – it was a hair on the sweet side and grew less and less interesting as it sat in the glass. Day 2: Flat and still uninteresting. Would be OK for a picnic and might be better with more of a chill than reds usually receive.
  • Jump Rope Semillon-Chardonnay 2010. South Eastern, Australia. ($14/12.9%). This wine wins for prettiest label. In terms of taste, it had a bit of that Welché that I don’t like but the chard is crisp. It would make a good spritzer or a white sangria. Day 2: The foretaste was OK, but the follow-up is again too grape-y. Day 3: Just boring.
  • Chestnut Peak Chardonnay also from somewhere in California ($14/12.5%). Sour – not vinegar sour, but that mouth-puckering something that comes from too much lemon. I haven’t figured out how it can be crisp and not taste good. It did not have super oak, but was a bit metallic. Day 2: insipid and thoroughly uninteresting except for a bit of fizz after it’s been sitting for fifteen to twenty minutes.
2 Responses to “Wine Club V”

  1. Betsy Says:

    Anxiously awaiting the maturing of the amarone. I plan to crack the first bottle in early October, which is a tad over six months under the cork. If it seems sufficiently aged, I’ll get a bottle to you and you can keep it until the holidays, when it will be 10 months old. Or if you choose, you can wait for the first birthday…St. Paddy’s Day!

    • lizr128 Says:

      Psych! I’ll wait for the birthday. The Amarone I have has been sitting around. The last bottle was from 1996ish and was fantastic. When you visit, we’ll share another!

Leave a Reply

